Clinical supervision training prepares licensed clinicians to oversee the work of associates pursuing independent licensure. It is different from the supervision an Associate Professional Clinical Counselor receives while earning experience toward LPCC licensure.
California does not issue a separate clinical supervisor license. Supervisors work under an eligible professional license and must satisfy the California Board of Behavioral Sciences requirements that apply to their license, experience, training, competence, documentation, and supervisory relationships. Completing a 15-hour course is an education requirement for many new supervisors, not independent legal authority to supervise.
The options below include currently available 15-hour initial training, six-hour continuing professional development, extended supervisor education, and voluntary professional credentials. This is a representative statewide guide rather than a complete course directory. The BBS recognizes provider categories and approval agencies but does not maintain a definitive list of every accepted clinical supervision course.
Prices and availability were researched on September 28, 2026.
California clinical supervisor requirements
The California Board of Behavioral Sciences statutes and regulations establish the controlling requirements for supervisors of APCCs, AMFTs, and ASWs. Professional associations and training providers can explain those rules, but their marketing does not replace the regulations.
For APCC supervision, eligible professionals can include LPCCs, LMFTs, LCSWs, Licensed Educational Psychologists within the applicable scope limitation, licensed psychologists, and board-certified psychiatrists. Each supervisor must satisfy the qualifications attached to the relevant license and supervisory arrangement.
A California supervisor generally must:
- Hold an eligible, active professional license.
- Have held an eligible license for at least two of the five years immediately preceding the start of supervision.
- Have practiced psychotherapy, qualifying psychological counseling, or direct clinical supervision during at least two of those five years.
- Remain competent in the clinical services being performed by the associate.
- Understand the laws and regulations governing the associate’s profession and experience.
- Establish procedures for emergencies and supervisor availability.
- Assess the supervisee’s strengths and limitations at least annually and when supervision ends.
- Complete required supervision agreements, reports, evaluations, and experience records.
- Avoid prohibited relationships and conflicts that undermine professional judgment.
The exact eligibility rules vary by supervisor license and by the associate registration involved. A course certificate addresses only the education component.
Clinicians exploring California counseling licenses can compare the broader pathways in the guide to counseling licenses, credentials, and career paths. LPCCs planning to supervise APCCs can also use the BBS LPCC resources page, which includes the Supervisor Self-Assessment Report, Supervision Agreement, weekly logs, experience-verification forms, and the official APCC supervision guide.
The 15-hour initial training requirement
Most BBS licensees who first began supervising in California on or after January 1, 2022 must complete 15 hours of supervision training or coursework. Supervisors who were already supervising before that date were not retroactively required to complete a 15-hour course solely because the regulation changed.
Training obtained through an accepted continuing education provider or government agency can generally be completed within the two years before supervision begins or within 60 days after it begins. Qualifying graduate coursework has a four-year lookback and can also be completed within 60 days after supervision starts.
The 15 hours can come from one course or multiple courses. Collectively, the training must address required subjects such as:
- Supervisor roles and competencies
- Goal setting and evaluation
- The supervisor-supervisee relationship
- California law and professional ethics
- Cultural and contextual variables
- Supervision theories and professional literature
- Documentation and recordkeeping
A six-hour renewal course supplies only part of the initial 15 hours unless it is combined with additional qualifying education that brings the total to 15 hours and covers the full required curriculum.
Six-hour professional development requirements
A supervisor who has not supervised for at least two years must complete six hours of supervision training within 60 days after resuming supervision, unless an applicable active professional certification provides the regulatory alternative.
After the initial training stage, supervisors must complete at least six hours of supervision-focused continuing professional development during each subsequent license-renewal period in which they supervise.
California permits more than conventional coursework for this recurring obligation. Qualifying activities can include:
- Clinical supervision courses
- Teaching supervision coursework
- Publishing supervision research
- Documented mentoring or consultation
- Documented supervisor peer discussion groups
A six-hour course is therefore one straightforward compliance route, but it is not the only form of professional development permitted by the regulations.
Licensed psychologists and board-certified psychiatrists are exempt from the BBS supervision training and continuing professional development requirements described in the board’s APCC supervisor guidance, although the board encourages them to obtain supervision training.
Provider recognition is not individual course approval
The BBS continuing education guidance explains that the board no longer maintains a list of valid individual CE providers. Instead, it recognizes defined provider categories and approval agencies.
Recognized approval agencies include organizations such as the American Psychological Association, Association of Social Work Boards, California Association of Marriage and Family Therapists, National Association of School Psychologists, National Association of Social Workers, and National Board for Certified Counselors. The board also identifies professional organizations that can function as recognized providers.
For that reason, the commercial courses in this guide are described according to the provider’s California compliance statement and documented approval channel. They are not represented as courses individually endorsed in advance by the BBS.
Clinical supervision training options at a glance
| Training or credential | Primary use | Format | Hours or experience | Price researched September 28, 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| High Pass New California Supervisor Package | Initial training | Self-paced online | 15 hours | $159 |
| Therapist Development Center Foundations | Initial training | Online | 15 hours | $180 |
| NASW-CA EmpowerED bundle | Initial training | Self-paced online | 15 hours | $195 |
| Mental Health CE Hub course | Initial training | Recorded online | 15 hours | $219 |
| SupervisionCEU.com pathway | Initial training | Self-paced online | Three courses, 15 hours | $186 |
| Aspira 15-Hour Course | Initial training | Online text-based study | 15 hours | $105 in units or $89 plan |
| Telehealth Certification Institute certificate | Extended initial and advanced training | Self-paced online | 49 hours | $545 |
| High Pass Clinical Effectiveness | Recurring development or return after lapse | Self-paced video | 6 hours | $74 |
| AATBS California Clinical Supervision | Recurring development or partial initial training | Self-paced text | 6 hours | $79.99 |
| Sentio Six-Hour BBS Supervision CE | Recurring development | Recorded and live online | 6 hours | $249 |
| Aspira Professional Development Course | Recurring development | Online text-based study | 6 hours | $54 in units |
| Sentio Deliberate Practice Program | Extended applied development | Online mentoring and practice | About 25 or up to 50 CE hours | Work-trade, no tuition |
| CAMFT Certified Supervisor | Voluntary professional certification | Coursework, practice, consultation, application | 18 course hours plus 104 supervision hours | Multiple course and application fees |
| CCE Approved Clinical Supervisor | Voluntary professional credential | Documented training and experience | 45 training hours or graduate course, plus experience | $150 application and $50 annual fee |
| AAMFT Approved Supervisor | Voluntary professional designation | Coursework, mentoring, practice | 30-hour course plus extensive practice | Multiple fees |
| ABCSW Clinical Supervision Specialty | Social work specialty certification | Application and documented experience | Training and substantial specialty practice | Total not specified in reviewed materials |
The lowest listed price does not identify the best educational fit. The relevant comparison is whether the offering supplies 15 initial hours, six recurring hours, extended skill development, or a professional credential with experience requirements.
New California Supervisor 15-Hour Package from High Pass Education
High Pass Education offers a self-paced online package for California LMFTs, LPCCs, and LCSWs preparing to supervise BBS associates. The package includes three courses totaling 15 hours: Dynamics of California Clinical Supervision, Supervision of California BBS Associates, and Supervision for Clinical Effectiveness.
The provider represents the package as meeting California’s initial supervisor education requirement. High Pass identifies itself as CAMFT continuing education provider 137848, placing the training within a BBS-recognized approval channel.
The package cost $159 as researched. Its main advantage is a preassembled 15-hour curriculum rather than a requirement to select and combine separate courses. No mentored supervision or supervised-practice component is advertised, so this is a compliance-oriented education package rather than an advanced supervisor credential.
This option fits an otherwise qualified clinician who wants one self-paced package covering the full initial-hour requirement.
Clinical Supervision: Foundations from Therapist Development Center
Therapist Development Center’s Clinical Supervision: Foundations provides 15 online training hours. The provider represents it as meeting California supervision training requirements for supervisors of ASWs, AMFTs, and APCCs.
The 15-hour course cost $180 as researched. The provider also lists a nine-hour Foundations course and a six-hour Integrated Developmental Model course. Those two shorter courses can be combined to reach 15 hours.
The separate-course structure gives clinicians two ways to complete the requirement: enroll in the complete 15-hour version or combine the nine-hour and six-hour offerings. Either route remains education rather than mentored supervision experience or private certification.
The provider operates through continuing education approval mechanisms that include ASWB ACE. ASWB is a BBS-recognized approval agency, though that status is continuing education recognition rather than academic accreditation.
Clinical Supervision of ASWs, AMFTs, and APCCs from NASW-CA EmpowerED
The National Association of Social Workers, California Chapter offers a three-module online bundle through its EmpowerED continuing education program. Despite the association’s social work identity, the bundle is expressly designed for supervision of California ASWs, AMFTs, and APCCs.
The curriculum is divided into three five-hour modules:
- Foundations and models of clinical supervision
- Contracts, goals, boundaries, assessment, and evaluation
- Legal, ethical, cultural, and liability considerations
NASW-CA represents the complete bundle as meeting California’s 15-hour training requirement for new clinical supervisors. Individual module materials state that participants must earn at least 80 percent on the post-test to print a completion certificate.
The bundle was listed at $195. It provides a clearly structured California-specific route for clinicians who prefer training delivered through a major state professional association.
15 Hour Clinical Supervision Course from Mental Health CE Hub
Mental Health CE Hub, operated by Sharon Greene, LCSW & Associates, offers a recorded asynchronous course created on April 1, 2026. The course provides 15 continuing education hours and was priced at $219.
Topics include supervision models, supervisor competencies, California law and ethics, cultural variables, evaluation, remediation, documentation, telehealth, informed consent, confidentiality, dual relationships, and professional liability.
Participants must complete the recorded curriculum and evaluation and earn at least 80 percent on the post-test. The provider permits up to three post-test attempts.
Sharon Greene, LCSW & Associates is listed as ASWB ACE provider 295 for the period from September 4, 2026, through September 4, 2029. The course is marketed to LCSWs, LMFTs, LPCCs, and LEPs, although the provider’s ASWB disclosure specifically concerns social work continuing education. The relevant California basis is the provider’s compliance representation and ASWB approval channel, subject to the BBS provider rules that apply to the participant’s profession.
Three-Course 15-Hour Pathway from SupervisionCEU.com
SupervisionCEU.com offers a modular route rather than one fixed 15-hour bundle. New California supervisors complete three listed courses, including Law, Ethics and Supervision: The Use of Authority.
Available subjects include clinical supervision fundamentals, professional authority and ethics, culturally relevant supervision, clinician self-disclosure, and expansion of clinical dialogue. Individual courses were listed at $62, producing a three-course cost of $186.
The provider uses online reading, testing, and downloadable completion certificates. Ricki Boden identifies CAMFT continuing education provider approval number 56659 and states that the courses can be used for California BBS requirements and CAMFT supervisor-certification renewal.
This format serves clinicians who want some control over the subjects included in their 15 hours. Because the pathway is assembled from separate courses, the required law-and-ethics selection and total hours need to remain part of the enrollment plan.
Clinical Supervision 15 Hour CE Course from Aspira Continuing Education
Aspira Continuing Education offers a primarily text-based online course with an examination and course evaluation. The curriculum covers supervision roles and methods, cultural and contextual factors, trauma-informed supervision, legal and ethical issues, performance monitoring, technology, clinical applications, and competency-based and treatment-based models.
Aspira expressly represents the course as satisfying California’s initial clinical supervisor education requirement. It identifies NBCC Approved Continuing Education Provider number 6416 and lists California among the approved states. NBCC is a BBS-recognized approval agency.
Aspira uses a unit system for completion certificates. Fifteen units at the listed rate of $7 each cost $105. A one-year plan allowing up to 18 units was listed at $89, making that plan less expensive for a participant who needs only this 15-hour course and can complete it within the plan conditions.
This is one of the lower-cost self-paced routes in the reviewed group. The training remains a continuing education course, not a California license or advanced supervisor designation.
Clinical Supervision Certificate from Telehealth Certification Institute
Telehealth Certification Institute offers a 49-hour certificate composed of 15 asynchronous self-study courses. Although it is a national program rather than a California-only course, the provider publishes a California-specific pathway and represents the certificate as meeting and exceeding the state’s 15-hour initial and six-hour recurring education requirements.
The curriculum covers supervision foundations, supervisory models and relationships, group supervision, gatekeeping, documentation, ethics, telesupervision, organizational supervision, contracts, multicultural responsiveness, and issues involving race, power, privilege, and social justice.
Participants receive six months of access and must complete the recorded instruction, post-tests, and evaluations. The certificate was listed at $545.
The provider identifies NBCC ACEP number 6693, ASWB ACE provider number 1609 through May 2, 2027, APA continuing education approval, and CCE Registered Credential Training Provider number 1005-ACS.
This option is substantially longer and more expensive than a 15-hour compliance course. Its 49-hour curriculum is better aligned with a clinician seeking broad supervisor preparation or training applicable to the CCE Approved Clinical Supervisor pathway.
Supervision for Clinical Effectiveness from High Pass Education
Supervision for Clinical Effectiveness is a six-hour, self-paced video course. It addresses clinical outcome monitoring, supervision interventions, supervision effectiveness, and legal and ethical considerations.
The provider represents it as meeting the California BBS six-hour supervision professional development requirement. High Pass operates as CAMFT continuing education provider 137848.
Completion requires watching all video segments, earning at least 80 percent on the quiz, and submitting a satisfaction survey. The listed price was $74.
The course is appropriately sized for a recurring renewal-period obligation or the six-hour requirement that can apply after a break from supervision of at least two years. By itself, it does not supply the 15 hours required of most clinicians beginning supervision for the first time.
California Clinical Supervision from AATBS
The Association for Advanced Training in the Behavioral Sciences offers a six-hour, self-paced text course titled California Clinical Supervision: Legal, Ethical, and Clinical Considerations.
Its content includes California supervision regulations, BBS forms, recordkeeping, supervisee evaluation, supervision theories, difficult supervisory situations, risk management, and legal and ethical duties. Participants must earn at least 75 percent on the post-test and complete a course evaluation.
AATBS represents the course as meeting California’s six-hour supervision education requirement for LMFT, LCSW, and LPCC supervisors. The provider identifies ASWB Approved Continuing Education status, which supplies a BBS-recognized approval channel.
The course was listed at $79.99. It is suitable for recurring professional development or as six hours within a properly constructed 15-hour initial curriculum, but it is not a complete initial course on its own.
Six-Hour BBS Supervision CE from Sentio University
Sentio University’s six-hour course combines three hours of recorded supervision content with three live online supervisor-development meetings. The provider identifies California LMFTs, LCSWs, LPCCs, and LEPs as eligible for the six continuing education hours.
Coursework addresses deliberate-practice supervision, observation of recorded clinical supervision, clinical outcome data, skills coaching, and discussion of supervision cases. To receive a certificate, participants complete the recorded training and live meetings, earn at least 80 percent on the post-test, and submit an evaluation.
The course had rolling start dates and cost $249. Its price is higher than the self-paced six-hour courses in this guide, but the structure includes live interaction and case discussion rather than relying entirely on recorded or text-based study.
This format is aligned with supervisors who want guided skill development while completing six hours. It does not provide the complete 15-hour initial requirement.
Clinical Supervision and Professional Development from Aspira Continuing Education
Aspira’s six-hour course is a text-based online option for recurring supervision professional development. Its subjects include supervision approaches, multicultural strategies, cultural and contextual factors, trauma-informed supervision, law and ethics, performance monitoring, technology, and clinical applications.
The provider represents the course as satisfying California supervision continuing education requirements and identifies NBCC ACEP number 6416. Participants review the materials, pass an examination, complete an evaluation, and obtain six units for the completion certificate.
Six individual units cost $9 each, for a total of $54. The course can also be completed through an applicable Aspira subscription plan.
Among the reviewed six-hour courses, this is the lowest listed à la carte price. The tradeoff is a primarily text-based self-study format without the live meetings offered by Sentio’s six-hour course.
Deliberate Practice Supervision Training Program from Sentio University
Sentio’s extended supervisor-development program is separate from its six-hour CE course. It offers six-month and 12-month online tracks for licensed supervisors in California and Washington.
The six-month track provides approximately 25 continuing education credits, while the 12-month track provides up to 50. Participants receive training in deliberate-practice supervision, video-based feedback, structured skill rehearsal, outcome monitoring, review of supervision sessions, and weekly group mentoring.
There is no tuition or application fee. Instead, the program uses a work-trade model. Participants supervise two Sentio Counseling Center trainees under their own licenses and spend approximately three hours per week on supervision and group training. Recorded supervision sessions can be reviewed under the program’s consent and privacy procedures.
The six-month track begins in January and September, while the 12-month track uses rolling admission.
Sentio represents the credits as applicable to California supervision continuing education. Its public materials are less consistent about whether the extended program independently replaces every element of the initial 15-hour compliance course. It is most accurately categorized as applied supervisor development and support for recurring professional development.
This is not a low-commitment CE option. It requires actual supervisory responsibility, weekly participation, and willingness to have supervision work reviewed.
CAMFT Certified Supervisor Program
The CAMFT Certified Supervisor Program is a voluntary professional certification rather than a California license. It extends well beyond the minimum 15-hour education requirement.
Eligibility includes California licensure and psychotherapy practice during at least two of the preceding five years, along with compliance with the BBS Supervision Agreement requirements. The pathway includes:
- 18 hours of CAMFT supervision coursework
- 104 hours of supervision experience completed over at least 52 weeks
- At least 12 hours of individual consultation or 24 hours of group consultation
- Supervision and consultation logs
- A consultation summary
- A three-to-five-page case summary
- Application and verification review
The core coursework was listed at $269 for CAMFT members and $319 for nonmembers. The initial application cost $40 for members or $75 for nonmembers. Verification cost $115 for members or $190 for nonmembers. Consultation and incidental expenses can add to the total.
Certification is valid for two years. Renewal requires a current BBS license, six hours of supervision education, an application, and a fee.
California regulations expressly identify active CAMFT supervisor certification as an alternative to the separate initial, lapse, and recurring training provisions. The certification does not replace the underlying license, experience, competence, documentation, and professional relationship requirements.
The program fits clinicians who want structured recognition based on both education and actual supervision experience, not merely a 15-hour certificate.
Approved Clinical Supervisor Credential from CCE
The Center for Credentialing and Education’s Approved Clinical Supervisor credential is a national voluntary credential. CCE is expressly identified in California regulations as an accepted supervisor-certifying entity.
Applicants need a qualifying master’s degree or higher, an independent-practice behavioral health license or National Certified Counselor credential, and a professional disclosure statement. They must document at least five years and 4,000 hours of post-master’s direct mental health service.
Supervision-specific requirements include:
- A three-semester-hour clinical supervision course from a CACREP-accredited program or 45 clock hours of specialized training
- Coverage of ten required competency areas
- At least 100 hours providing clinical supervision
- Endorsements and supporting records
- Application and credential review
Training topics include supervision models and methods, group supervision, evaluation and gatekeeping, technology, administration, law and ethics, and culturally responsive practice.
The application fee was $150, and annual maintenance cost $50. Coursework expenses are separate. The credential operates on a five-year cycle, with annual maintenance and 20 hours of clinical supervision continuing education required for recredentialing. Up to nine hours of supervision of the credential holder’s own work as a supervisor can count toward that continuing education total.
An active CCE supervisor credential can provide the California regulatory alternative to separate supervision training and continuing professional development provisions. It is most relevant to experienced clinicians seeking a portable credential with substantial education and experience requirements.
AAMFT Approved Supervisor Designation
The American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy offers an Approved Supervisor designation centered on systemic and relational supervision. AAMFT is one of the supervisor-certifying organizations expressly named in California regulations.
The regular pathway includes:
- A 30-hour Fundamentals of Supervision course
- At least 18 months of supervision training
- 180 hours providing MFT supervision
- Supervision of at least two supervisees
- 36 hours of mentoring
- Required AAMFT membership during training
- Application review
The coursework addresses systemic supervision, supervisory relationships, evaluation, ethics, cultural variables, technology, and development of a personal supervision philosophy. AAMFT offers virtual and hybrid course formats.
Current guidance listed a $200 application processing fee and $100 in annual designation dues, separate from membership, coursework, and mentoring expenses.
The designation has a five-year term. Renewal requires a six-hour AAMFT Approved Supervision Refresher Course and a renewal application.
This pathway is primarily aligned with marriage and family therapy supervisors who want extensive MFT-specific preparation and professional recognition. California’s acceptance of an active AAMFT designation as a training alternative does not waive the state’s baseline license, experience, scope, and administrative requirements.
Clinical Supervision Specialty Certification from ABCSW
The American Board of Clinical Social Work offers a Clinical Supervision Specialty Certification for experienced clinical social workers. Applicants must hold or obtain the Board Certified Diplomate in Clinical Social Work credential.
The specialty requirements include:
- At least five years of practice in clinical supervision
- At least 500 specialty-practice hours
- At least 100 specialty hours during the preceding year
- A peer consultant with equal or greater experience
- A 40-clock-hour supervision course, an eligible graduate supervision course, or approval as a clinical social work supervisor by the clinician’s state of practice
California regulations name the American Board of Examiners in Clinical Social Work as an accepted supervisor-certifying entity. That organization’s services and credentials were consolidated into the American Board of Clinical Social Work in 2020. Because the regulation retains the predecessor name, the organizational succession needs to remain visible in any assessment of the current credential’s California treatment.
The reviewed specialty page did not specify one complete current price covering the BCD prerequisite, specialty application, verification, membership, and renewal.
This certification is an advanced social work credential. It is not a general 15-hour California course and is not designed for LPCCs or LMFTs.
Clinical supervision by videoconference
California permanently permits qualifying supervision through two-way, real-time videoconferencing in all settings. The supervisor must assess whether videoconferencing is appropriate for the supervisee and document that assessment. In-person supervision must be used when the assessment finds video supervision inappropriate.
This rule concerns delivery of supervision to an associate, not merely the delivery format of a supervisor training course. Completing an online course does not establish that every future supervisory meeting should occur online.
Telephone-only contact is not equivalent to two-way, real-time video. Supervisors using videoconferencing still retain responsibility for availability, emergency procedures, privacy, documentation, competence, and the quality of the supervisory relationship.
Professional certification versus minimum training
The options in this guide fall into four distinct categories.
Initial education
A 15-hour course addresses the training requirement that applies to most new BBS-licensed supervisors. These courses are usually the fastest route for clinicians who already satisfy the license, experience, practice, and competence rules.
Examples include the High Pass package, Therapist Development Center course, NASW-CA bundle, Mental Health CE Hub course, SupervisionCEU.com pathway, and Aspira course.
Recurring professional development
Six-hour courses help supervisors complete renewal-period professional development or training required after a supervision lapse of at least two years. High Pass, AATBS, Sentio, and Aspira provide verified six-hour options.
These courses do not independently provide the full initial 15 hours.
Extended skill development
The Telehealth Certification Institute’s 49-hour certificate and Sentio’s six- or 12-month program devote more time to supervisory practice than a basic compliance course.
The Telehealth Certification Institute route is self-paced and curriculum-heavy. Sentio combines training with actual supervision of trainees, recorded-session review, and weekly mentoring. They serve different professional-development goals even though both exceed six hours.
Voluntary professional credentials
CAMFT, CCE, AAMFT, and ABCSW require substantial experience, documentation, consultation, mentoring, or maintenance beyond a short course. These are private professional credentials, not California licenses.
Active certifications from organizations named in the regulations can replace specified training and continuing professional development provisions. They do not remedy an inactive license, insufficient experience, a scope limitation, deficient records, prohibited relationships, or lack of competence in the services being supervised.
How to choose the right training
Start with the obligation that applies now.
A clinician beginning supervision for the first time generally needs a complete 15-hour route. Selecting a six-hour renewal course because it is cheaper leaves nine hours unaddressed and may omit required initial topics.
A current supervisor completing renewal-period professional development can select a six-hour course or use another documented activity permitted by the regulations. In that situation, paying for a 15-hour package provides more education than the minimum obligation but can be reasonable when the supervisor wants a broader refresher.
Format then becomes the practical separator:
- Text-based self-study: Aspira and AATBS use reading, examination, and evaluation structures.
- Recorded instruction: High Pass and Mental Health CE Hub support asynchronous study through video or recorded content.
- Modular course selection: SupervisionCEU.com lets participants assemble 15 hours from separate courses under its stated pathway.
- Professional association curriculum: NASW-CA provides a California-focused three-module bundle.
- Live online interaction: Sentio’s six-hour course combines recorded work with videoconference meetings.
- Extended self-paced curriculum: Telehealth Certification Institute provides 49 hours across 15 courses.
- Applied supervision practice: Sentio’s extended program requires participants to supervise trainees and join weekly mentoring.
- Experience-based certification: CAMFT, CCE, AAMFT, and ABCSW require significantly more than course attendance.
Assessment requirements also differ. Reviewed courses use post-tests ranging from 75 to 80 percent, course evaluations, completion of all instructional segments, or combinations of these elements. Sentio’s interactive options add attendance and participation requirements.
For additional non-degree professional learning options, see the broader California counseling training and certifications guide.
Clinical supervisor compliance checklist
A course selection is only one line in the larger supervision plan. Before and during supervision, organize the following elements:
- Eligible active license: The supervisor’s license must qualify for the registration being supervised.
- Two-of-five-years history: Document the required licensing and practice experience during the five years preceding supervision.
- Clinical competence: The supervisor must be competent in the services and practice areas assigned to the associate.
- Correct training obligation: Determine whether the applicable requirement is 15 initial hours, six hours after a lapse, recurring professional development, or an active recognized certification.
- Training timing: Retain evidence that the education was completed within the applicable pre-supervision or post-start period.
- Required curriculum: A multi-course initial pathway must collectively cover the supervision subjects required by regulation.
- Provider documentation: Keep the completion certificate and records showing the provider’s recognized approval basis.
- Supervision Agreement: Complete the applicable BBS agreement for the supervisory relationship.
- Supervisor Self-Assessment Report: Submit the report within the required period when applicable.
- Emergency procedures: Establish how the associate will obtain guidance during emergencies.
- Supervisee evaluation: Assess strengths and limitations at least annually and when supervision ends.
- Experience records: Maintain weekly logs, verification forms, evaluations, and related records.
- Videoconference assessment: When using two-way video, assess and document its appropriateness for the supervisee.
- Renewal-period development: Complete and document six hours of supervision-focused professional development during each applicable renewal period.
For many experienced clinicians, the efficient route is a complete 15-hour California-focused course followed by six hours of documented development in later renewal periods. Supervisors who expect supervision to become a major part of their professional role can justify the additional time required by a 49-hour certificate, applied mentoring program, or experience-based credential. The correct choice follows from the current regulatory obligation and the depth of supervisory responsibility the clinician intends to assume.